CHARACTER PORTRAITS: Research for styles, finished pieces

20|02|2017
Week 4

I’m creating stylised portraits of the film’s 6 main characters for our schematic (and possibly for the artefact too if we need more hand-drawn stuff). These will run along the left-hand side of the schematic and will tie in with Michael’s icons for different points of the plot.

Artist’s I looked at:

TOM WHALEN  (Click through for website)


I adore the work of this guy, and his posters for Disney/Laika/films/tv shows are endless, you could spend days looking through them. I’ve been looking to use this illustrative vector style for a while now and I feel as though it could really work with the 1950’s feel! It looks minimal, but is actually pretty complicated and meticulously thought out.

To mix this impressive aesthetic style in with something much more linear and simple, I also looked to an artist on deviantArt known as Bantamart (tumblr can be found here but has no formal website). This guy only goes by “Dan”, and his work is so simple and minimal.

Call Me… The Doctor by Bantaman

call_me____the_doctor__by_bantamart-d4zcm99.png
I also really liked this piece:

Which the merciless reposting of art on pinterest has ruined any hope of finding the source for!!

FINAL CHARACTER PORTRAITS:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I really liked how these came out!! I tried to stick to using less than 8 colours per character. Hopefully the rest of the team will consider using them for the artefact as well as the schematic because I’m really proud of them, a rare occurance.

EDIT: THEY WERE USED FOR PART OF THE ARTEFACT!!!! I love my Gun Crazy team

artefact-image-6

Leave a Reply

